Announcement of the Winners of the 1st ASIA COSMOPOLITAN AWARDS

Updated:16 November 2012

Bookmark and Share

The Asia Cosmopolitan Awards Secretariat (c/o the Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA), Jakarta, Indonesia) proudly announces the inaugural winners of the Grand Prize, the Economic and Social Science Prize, the Cultural Prize and the Memorable Prize.

The 1st Asia Cosmopolitan Awards awarded to:

Grand Prize:Dr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary General of the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Ecnomic and Social Science Prize:Prof. Benedict Anderson, Professor Emeritus at Cornell University

CulturalPrize:Mr.Takehiko Inoue, Japanese Manga Artist

Memorable Prize:The late Hadi Soesastro, Founder of the Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)

The Asia Cosmopolitan Awards aims to recognize on a biennial basis individuals or organizations that have made substantial and significant contributions to the development of a peaceful and stable East Asian Community, to narrow the developmental gaps in the region, as well as to establish the sustainable social growth towards cultural and economic integration within East Asia.

An event to congratulate the laureates called the Nara Forum will be held on December 18 and 19, 2012, and will feature a presentation ceremony, a commemorative keynote speech, and lectures by the laureates.

Press Release 1st Asia Cosmopolitan Awards Laureates English

Selection for Basis_English

Press Release 1st Asia Cosmopolitan Awards Laureates Japanese

Selection for Basis_Japanese

^ Back to Top