About Us

Governing Board

The Governing Board is the decision-making body of ERIA and consists of the Secretary General of ASEAN and representatives from each of the 16 member countries, all of whom have backgrounds in academia, business, and policymaking.

Governing Board Statements

2nd GB Statement

3rd GB Statement

5th GB Statement

7th GB Statement

8th GB Statement

9th GB Statement

10th GB Statement

11th GB Statement

12th GB Statement


Governing Board Members

Updated as of 10 July 2019


Dato Paduka Lim Jock HoiSecretary-General of ASEAN
AustraliaMr James BaxterSenior Economic Official for the East Asia Summit and Chief Negotiator for RCEP
Brunei DarussalamMr Asrul Adrain Ahmad

Director of Planning, Department of Economic Planning and Development

Prime Minister’s Office, Brunei Darussalam

CambodiaH.E. Ros SeilavaUnder Secretary of State, Ministry of Economy and Finance; Member of Supreme National Economic Council (SNEC)
ChinaProf Zhang YunlingProfessor of International Economics; Academy Member & Director of Academy Division for International Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS)
IndiaDr Ajit RanadeChief Economist, Aditya Birla Group
IndonesiaProf Dr Mari Elka PangestuMember Board of Trustees of the Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) Indonesia; Former Minister of Trade; Former Minister of Tourism and Creative Economy
JapanMr Sadayuki SakakibaraExecutive Advisor to the Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry; Former Chairman of Nippon Keidanren (Japan Business Federation)
KoreaMr Tae-Shin KwonPresident, Korea Economic Research Institute (KERI); Former Minister of the Prime Minister's Office; Former Ambassador of Korea to the OECD
Lao PDRDr Leeber LeebouapaoVice President of the National Institute of Economic Research of Lao PDR
MalaysiaMr Lokman Hakim Bin AliSecretary General of International Trade and Industry of Malaysia
MyanmarH.E. U Set AungDeputy Minister, Ministry of Planning and Finance
New ZealandTBA (To Be Appointed) 
PhilippinesMr Adrian S. Cristobal Jr.

Chairperson of ERIA Governing Board, Former Secretary of Department of Trade and Industry, Philippines

SingaporeAmbassador Barry DeskerDistinguished Fellow & Bakrie Professor of Southeast Asia Policy, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University
ThailandH.E. Prof Sakon Varanyuwatana

Chairperson of The Competition Commission at the Office of Trade Competition Commission

Viet NamDr Nguyen Dinh CungPresident, Central Institute for Economic Management (CIEM)


Loading Loading